Search found 143 matches

by Whackamatt
Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:44 am
Forum: Talk to Larry
Topic: Upcoming Games
Replies: 45
Views: 13290

Re: Upcoming Games

Larry, Have you ever considered a board game set in the "Forgotten War", the Korean conflict? That would be awesome. There could be some correlation with the current political system, when does China become involved in the conflict? Does Russia decide to actively participate? etc. An F-86 game piece...
by Whackamatt
Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:16 pm
Forum: Axis & Allies: Global 1940
Topic: When should Japan declare war on the Allies?
Replies: 1
Views: 2427

Re: When should Japan declare war on the Allies?

Welcome, Theodore. Thing is, I wanted to hear your opinion regarding the most efficient turn for Japan to declare a war on the Allies (playing with the Alpha +3 rules) and to share my thoughts on the matter with you. Any feedback would be much appreciated Right off the bat, I’d say there is no “most...
by Whackamatt
Mon Mar 31, 2014 3:01 pm
Forum: Axis & Allies WWI 1914
Topic: About Subs and Cruisers
Replies: 6
Views: 2316

Re: About Subs and Cruisers

I disagree with the premise that subs and cruisers need help to compete with battleships; they’re not supposed to. They all serve different roles. It isn’t a simple math calculation, where 2 X 6 must be equal to 12. This game has NEVER worked that one. The scale of comparison isn’t linear. For one, ...
by Whackamatt
Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:35 pm
Forum: Axis & Allies: Global 1940
Topic: Official Rules Clarifications
Replies: 1148
Views: 103720

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Questions about planes landing on carriers: Situation: Planes wish to attack enemy naval units. To get there, they use 3 movment, and must have the carrier move to become their only viable landing spot. Question 1: Must the carrier move their during CM, or can they get there during NCM? Question 1a:...
by Whackamatt
Tue Mar 18, 2014 1:41 pm
Forum: Axis & Allies: Global 1940
Topic: Official Rules Clarifications
Replies: 1148
Views: 103720

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Question: Can a factory be purchased & placed on Queensland and Scotland? I've seen the question come up before, but I don't recall the answer. The rulebook says no new factories on islands, but it defines islands as (page 8 Europe 2nd Edition) "An island or island group is a single territory surrou...
by Whackamatt
Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:19 pm
Forum: Axis & Allies: Global 1940
Topic: Official Rules Clarifications
Replies: 1148
Views: 103720

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Ah! Triple A allowed me to scramble, but couldn't process the rest and allowed France to take Gibraltar, which didn't seem right.
by Whackamatt
Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:32 pm
Forum: Axis & Allies: Global 1940
Topic: Official Rules Clarifications
Replies: 1148
Views: 103720

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Question: France has two infantry loaded on a US transport. During France's combat movement phase, they are unloading their infantry into the Italian held Gibraltar. France has no combat units in the SZ. Italy has two fighters stationed in Morocco, with an airbase. Can Italy scramble to prevent the ...
by Whackamatt
Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:36 am
Forum: Axis & Allies: Global 1940
Topic: Official Rules Clarifications
Replies: 1148
Views: 103720

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Thanks, Krieg! Builder_Chris, it makes sense. Let me lay down the rulebook: “Looks like the same situation to me…why is it different?” Page 36, Europe 2nd Ed : “Due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, the Soviet Union is in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers. As ...