Axis and Allies 2 nd edition rules clarification?

Original Axis & Allies 1984-2004
Post Reply
Heavy_Mechanized
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:42 am

Axis and Allies 2 nd edition rules clarification?

Post by Heavy_Mechanized » Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:26 am

Two rules clarifications asked for:

1) On Russias first turn, they bring in a fighter and a transport to attack the German transport and sub in the Baltic seazone, the Russian fighter scores a hit, so Germany moves its sub behind the casualty line, the transport and sub upon defending both roll a "one", what should happen? According to a club I am in, that since units roll in columns, Russia would have removed the transport as a casualty immediatley after the first column defending German transport rolled, thus, leaving the fighter, and since subs cannot shoot at planes, the sub would not get a chance to roll, therefore the fighter survives the battle, to continue against the transport, thus later killing it, with the Russian fighter survivng the battle.

2) Can ships combat or non combat thru the Suez canal if it was not owned at the beginning of your turn? The rules clearly state that the Panama canal must have been owned at the beginning of your turn to combat or non combat thru it, but it does not clearly state that for the Suez canal, only that both side must be owned by you or your alley to combat or non combat thru it. :roll:

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Axis and Allies 2 nd edition rules clarification?

Post by Krieghund » Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:34 pm

Welcome, Heavy_Mechanized!
Heavy_Mechanized wrote:1) On Russias first turn, they bring in a fighter and a transport to attack the German transport and sub in the Baltic seazone, the Russian fighter scores a hit, so Germany moves its sub behind the casualty line, the transport and sub upon defending both roll a "one", what should happen? According to a club I am in, that since units roll in columns, Russia would have removed the transport as a casualty immediatley after the first column defending German transport rolled, thus, leaving the fighter, and since subs cannot shoot at planes, the sub would not get a chance to roll, therefore the fighter survives the battle, to continue against the transport, thus later killing it, with the Russian fighter survivng the battle.
The club ruling is correct. Casualties are resolved after each column rolls. However, technically the Soviet player should be given the choice as to which unit he/she will choose as a casualty for the German transport hit before the die is rolled for the defending sub, not that it would matter in this case.

It also should be noted that when you're playing in a club, you're playing by their rules, which may vary from the official ones.
Heavy_Mechanized wrote:2) Can ships combat or non combat thru the Suez canal if it was not owned at the beginning of your turn? The rules clearly state that the Panama canal must have been owned at the beginning of your turn to combat or non combat thru it, but it does not clearly state that for the Suez canal, only that both side must be owned by you or your alley to combat or non combat thru it. :roll:
You must own both territories bordering the Suez Canal at the beginning of your turn in order to use it.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests