Question dealing with setup for navies of USA and Japan

Axis & Allies Revised by Avalon Hill. Released in 2004.
Axis & Allies is a classic game of war, economics, and global strategy. Victory goes not only to the team that conquers its opponents on the field of battle, but also to the individual player who seizes the most enemy territory.
Flying Tiger

Question dealing with setup for navies of USA and Japan

Post by Flying Tiger » Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:05 pm

I'm no history expert but it has always bothered me that in the spring of 42' that the starting setup would have the USA completely vulnerable to attack in Hawaii. Carrier, fighter and sub in range of so much fire power from Japan?

I know it is just a game but what was the real "situation" in the Pacific at that time? Midway was about to happen right?

If I was to set it up I would have a Carrier, fighter, Battleship, transport in western USA and a sub and transport in Hawaii to start the game. Would that be more realistic, or a bad idea? At the very least I would switch the BB and CV for the setup.

Thoughts?
Foolish mortals, I will destroy you all!!!
NOT

Admiral_Thrawn

Post by Admiral_Thrawn » Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:25 am

I know what you are saying. It does seem weird that Japan can quickly destroy the what was left the US fleet in the first move. Part of the problem is that there is so little spaces in the Pacific that you can reach most places from anywhere. Hell, Midway is pointless in the game. It's there just because it has to be. AAR does not represent the battle in the Pacific at all. Nothing about it is like the real war. It's the stupid America abandons it to attack Germany and Japan abandons it to attack Russia. Thats why I like AAP and AAE better than Revised(with a few house rules of course!).
"Concentration, focus, long-term thinking--those are the qualities that seperate a warrior from a mere flailing fighter." - Grand Admiral Thrawn

Flying Tiger

Post by Flying Tiger » Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:44 pm