Official FAQ

Wacht am Rhein (Watch on the Rhein) was the German code name for this counter offensive. I don't want to hear anybody complaining about the weather this winter unless you were in the Ardennes during the winter of 1944! I simply love playing this game. Check out the new combat system when you can.
Post Reply
User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Official FAQ

Post by Krieghund » Sat Dec 23, 2006 10:10 am

The official FAQ for Battle of the Bulge can be found here: FAQ
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:14 pm

The FAQ has been updated.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:01 pm

The FAQ has been updated again.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Mon Dec 24, 2007 5:35 pm

Since the Avalon Hill boards are moving, I am posting a copy of the FAQ here until things settle at the new boards.


Errata

Page 11, Trucks - Special Abilities - Return: "At the beginning of the Movement & Reinforcement phase, before either player moves, you may return any of your Trucks that aren't in the enemy zone of control and can trace a path on roads to a friendly edge of the board without passing through an enemy zone of control or enemy-controlled city to your off-board area."

Page 12, Air Combat - Place Aircraft: "The player chosen by the player who won the Air Combat Initiative places all of his or her Aircraft in any hexes he or she chooses, and then the other player does the same."

Page 13, Anti-Aircraft Example: Only spaces that actually contain aircraft should be counted when applying hits. In the example, the "4" should be carried over to the first position (with the "1") rather than be applied to the empty space.

Pages 18-19, Basic Movement Rules: "An empty Truck that begins movement in a hex on a friendly edge of the board with a road going off the board in that hex (even if that hex is in an enemy zone of control) may move off-board, in which case you return it to your off-board area."


General

Does a combat unit exert a zone of control into an adjacent hex even if there are enemy combat units there?
Yes. A zone of control is simply the area which combat units threaten. The presence of friendly units in such an area does not negate the threat of enemy attack.

What exactly determines who controls a city hex? Does a player gain control immediately when his or her units enter the hex?
Control of a city hex is determined by the position of the front line. If it is on the Allied side of the line, it is controlled by the Allies. If it is on the Axis side of the line it is controlled by the Axis. The presence of enemy units in the hex has no effect on control until the front lines are updated in the Board Upkeep phase, at which point control changes only if there are enemy combat units in the city hex.


Combat

In combat, in other Axis & Allies games even those units destroyed get to fight back before they are removed. Is this the case in Battle of the Bulge?
Battle of the Bulge's combat system is completely different from those of previous Axis & Allies games. The defender does not fire back at all. These units must wait for their turn to attack, and then only the remaining units may do so. That's why initiative is so important.

After an attack that clears all enemy units from a hex, can the attacking units immediately move into the hex?
No. The only movement that occurs during combat is retreating. All other movement happens during the Movement and Reinforcement phase.

If multiple attacks are declared from a single hex, must all the attacks be resolved before passing initiative to the other player?
Yes.

Who moves units retreated in the Air Combat and Ground Combat phases?
The player who owns the units moves them.

Can two units that were retreated in the same battle retreat to different hexes?
Yes.

Can a unit retreat "forward" across the front line, assuming that no enemy zones of control or terrain features prevent it? Can it even retreat into an enemy-held city?
Yes.

Since units may not retreat into a hex that has reached its stacking limit, what happens when multiple units are retreated and there is room for some of them, but not all of them, to retreat? May some of the units retreat, or is it all or nothing?
Each unit is treated independently, and they can retreat to different hexes if there is more than one available. Since the defender controls how the units retreat, it is his/her choice of the order and direction of retreating units.

Can ground units retreating from hits from Fighters and Bombers move into another hex where the other player has Aircraft?
Yes, Aircraft do not exert a zone of control. When the combat occurs in this hex, these units will participate in that combat also.

If units are attacked and retreated, can those units be attacked in the same turn if your opponent attacks the hex into which you retreated them?
In Air Combat, yes. This cannot happen in Ground Combat. Since units may not retreat into an enemy zone of control, they may not retreat into a hex that can be attacked by ground units.


Movement

On page 18 of the Operations Manual it states that "Whenever a ground unit enters or leaves a hex that falls within an enemy zone of control, its movement stops." Does the condition of a unit starting its movement in an enemy zone of control prevent it from moving to an adjacent zone of control hex?
No, an activated unit may always move at least one hex. In this case, you have two conditions that stop movement, but they occur simultaneously as the unit crosses the border between the two enemy zone of control hexes.

The Operations Manual states that you can use an extra Supply token to blitz a Tank an extra hex when it normally would end its movement. It specifically mentions that you can do this while in an enemy zone of control. It does not, however, specifically mention blitzing in respect to entering an empty enemy-controlled city. Can you also blitz in this situation, or do the Tanks have to stop for the remainder of the Movement & Reinforcement phase because the roads in the city are "congested"?
Tanks can indeed blitz after moving into an enemy-controlled city. The blitz action simply adds one hex to a Tank's movement, regardless of why that movement ended.


Trucks and Supplies

Can Trucks load and unload in hexes inside an enemy zone of control?
Yes.

If a German unit moves into a hex occupied by an Allied Truck, does the Truck get a chance to move away to avoid being commandeered, since it is not actually commandeered until the Board Upkeep phase?
No. Trucks are captured as soon as enemy combat units move into their hex, even though they are not commandeered until the Board Upkeep phase. When they are captured, they may no longer be used by their former owner. However, they also may not be used by their new owner until they are commandeered. This interrim period (the remainder of the Movement and Reinforcement phase) represents the time necessary to take prisoners and assign personnel to the newly captured Trucks.

If Tanks move through a hex containing undefended enemy Trucks and/or Supplies and keep on moving, are they commandeered in the Board Upkeep phase even if no combat units remain in the hex to claim them?
The Trucks/Supplies will not be commandeered unless at least one combat unit remains in the hex to claim them.

Can you waste Supplies with useless actions, say by paying two Supply tokens to move a Tank out of a hex, then blitz it right back into the hex? This would be an easy way for the Allies to keep supplies from falling into German hands.
Yes, destroying supplies before they fall into enemy hands is always possible (with limited results of course).

Can you use a Truck to move Supply tokens to your units on the board, then use those Supplies on the same turn to move those units?
No. All movement during the Movement part of the Movement and Reinforcement phase must be paid for before any movement is actually done. Only Supply tokens that are already in position at the beginning of the phase may be spent to move units already on the board.

I am a little confused about how Truck movement works. Could you explain it to me?
At the beginning of the Movement and Reinforcement phase, you may return any of your "free" Trucks that are on the board to your off-board area. Free Trucks are Trucks that either a) are not in an enemy zone of control and can trace a path on roads to a friendly edge of the board without passing through an enemy zone of control or enemy-controlled city, or b) are in a hex on a friendly edge of the board (even if that hex is in an enemy zone of control) with a road going off the board. This is the only time at which Trucks may leave the board.

During the Movement part of the phase, each Truck that remained on-board may load and carry cargo. A Truck's cargo capacity is limited to six items. This includes any combination of Supply tokens and activated Infantry and/or Artillery units that have not yet moved. Such a Truck may then be moved to any location on the board that it can legally reach (see below) without leaving the board. It is important to note, however, that a Truck moving out of an enemy zone of control can only be moved to an adjoining hex that is linked by road. A Truck, beginning its movement in an enemy zone of control may load units that are in that hex.

Trucks can only be moved on roads. As a Truck passes through different hexes it can fill any remaining empty cargo spaces (maximum of six items) with supplies or eligible units (see above) picked up along the way.

Trucks must stop upon entering an enemy zone of control or enemy-controlled city. They may, of course, otherwise stop anywhere along a road. When a Truck stops, its cargo is completely unloaded, and it may not unload any part of its cargo until it stops.

During the Reinforcement part of the phase, each off-board Truck (including the current turn's reinforcement Trucks) may load up to its normal cargo capacity. This cargo can include units from the off-board area (including the current turn's reinforcements from any of the charts). Each of these Trucks may then enter the board in any valid reinforcement entry hex (see page 21), regardless of the reinforcement chart from which they or their cargo came. Each Truck may then move exactly as in the Movement part of the phase, filling any remaining empty cargo spaces as it moves.

Supply tokens may only be moved by Truck. No Supply tokens need to be paid to move either Trucks or Supplies. Supply tokens must be paid to activate combat units to be moved by Truck, unless those units are reinforcements coming from off-board.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests