!GAMEPLAY RULES HELP NEEDED!

Wacht am Rhein (Watch on the Rhein) was the German code name for this counter offensive. I don't want to hear anybody complaining about the weather this winter unless you were in the Ardennes during the winter of 1944! I simply love playing this game. Check out the new combat system when you can.
Post Reply
GenBiggunz
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 1:23 pm

!GAMEPLAY RULES HELP NEEDED!

Post by GenBiggunz » Thu Dec 28, 2006 1:36 pm

First i would like to say hello to everyone on the site, i'm new to the site and fairly new to Axis and Allies.. I have owned AA Europe for a couple years now and just picked up AA Battle of the Bulge which i think is excellent. These games are great and i can't even begin to imagine the amount of work, planning that is involved in making a game like to play and function properly.. Hats off to you!

I have some questions regarding the rules which kind of stumped us last night during a game.. I am still learning this game and have not yet gone through a complete game, mainly because i hate playing these games without knowing 100% that i'm playing the rules properly or not LOL.. anyways here are my questions, hopefully somebody can answer them.

1. If only 2 units are in a hex and are retreated a hex back from combat leaving the hex empty does the attacker move into that empty hex right after combat even though the units weren't destroyed? And if so do you wait till the movement and reinforcement turn to take over the hex you defeated or does that happen immediately after combat?

2. If you get attacked and have units pushed back due to retreating can those retreated units be attacked in the same turn if your opponent attacks the hex in which you retreated them to ?

3. When you deploy offboard reinforcements is the supply truck needed to bring in the reinforcements like artillery and Infantry? And what about the reinforcements from the charts, do you have to use the supply trucks to move artillery/infantry from the charts?

4. If you attack a hex and win do you immediately move into ther hex you just defeated?

5. Can you be attacked in the next battle(same turn) after taking the new hex over or does the infantry in a hex become idle after being used once in a turn?

6. If you can't move into a hex that you just defeated until the movement phase due to supply issues can that empty hex you just won be taking over from your opponent by them retreating a unit into it from a different battle in the adjacent hex? We need to know what to do with these empty hexes after combat?

7. If there is an empty hex next to my units can i move my units into that hex to take it over even if that hex is in the enemie's ZOC? Or what if i was in the enemies ZOC , can i take that empty hex in the ZOC while being in the adjacent hex which is also ZOC?

8. Last question but i read that the reinforcements from the charts can be used right away at the beginning of the turn? i understood that whatever color reinforcements that match the turn can only be brought in at the end of that turn in the movement and reinforcement turn.

I apologize for all these questions but maybe others can benefit from the answers as well.. Maybe i'm making it more difficult than it is..? my brain hurts lol The clearer we understand this game the better the gameplay is.

THANKS IN ADVANCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!![/b]

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: !GAMEPLAY RULES HELP NEEDED!

Post by Krieghund » Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:32 pm

Welcome, GenBiggunz! Glad you're enjoying the game.
GenBiggunz wrote:1. If only 2 units are in a hex and are retreated a hex back from combat leaving the hex empty does the attacker move into that empty hex right after combat even though the units weren't destroyed? And if so do you wait till the movement and reinforcement turn to take over the hex you defeated or does that happen immediately after combat?
The only movement that occurs during combat is retreating. All other movement happens during the Movement and Reinforcement phase.
GenBiggunz wrote:2. If you get attacked and have units pushed back due to retreating can those retreated units be attacked in the same turn if your opponent attacks the hex in which you retreated them to ?
In air combat, yes. This cannot happen in ground combat. Since units may not retreat into an enemy zone of control, they may not retreat into a hex that can be attacked by ground units.
GenBiggunz wrote:3. When you deploy offboard reinforcements is the supply truck needed to bring in the reinforcements like artillery and Infantry? And what about the reinforcements from the charts, do you have to use the supply trucks to move artillery/infantry from the charts?
Infantry and Artillery may move on their own, but they may only move one hex. If you want them to move farther, you must transport them by Truck. See pages 20 and 21.
GenBiggunz wrote:4. If you attack a hex and win do you immediately move into ther hex you just defeated?
No.
GenBiggunz wrote:5. Can you be attacked in the next battle(same turn) after taking the new hex over or does the infantry in a hex become idle after being used once in a turn?
Each hex may only be activated for combat once per turn, but it may be attacked multiple times from the surrounding hexes.
GenBiggunz wrote:6. If you can't move into a hex that you just defeated until the movement phase due to supply issues can that empty hex you just won be taking over from your opponent by them retreating a unit into it from a different battle in the adjacent hex? We need to know what to do with these empty hexes after combat?
No, you can't retreat into an enemy zone of control, so a hex that was cleared this turn cannot be retaken by retreating into it.
GenBiggunz wrote:7. If there is an empty hex next to my units can i move my units into that hex to take it over even if that hex is in the enemie's ZOC? Or what if i was in the enemies ZOC , can i take that empty hex in the ZOC while being in the adjacent hex which is also ZOC?
Yes. You can move into and/or out of an enemy ZoC during the Movement and Reinforcement phase, but you may only move one hex when doing so.
GenBiggunz wrote:8. Last question but i read that the reinforcements from the charts can be used right away at the beginning of the turn? i understood that whatever color reinforcements that match the turn can only be brought in at the end of that turn in the movement and reinforcement turn.
Reinforcements only enter the game during the Reinforcement part of the Movement and Reinforcement phase.


If you haven't done so already, check out the FAQ above. It may answer a lot of your future questions, even ones you didn't know you had yet!
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

GenBiggunz
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 1:23 pm

Post by GenBiggunz » Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:05 pm

Thank you very much Krieghund! Your answers are very much appreciated!! :D ANd yes, i'm realy enjoying the game, after playing any of the A&A games any other board game doesn't exist LOL

madasaskaven
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:23 pm

Post by madasaskaven » Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:04 am

I too have a few questions to ask. By the way I love all the games and own all five now.

In combat, in the other games even those units destroyed get to fight back before they are removed, is this still the case?

what happens if you have a hex with 4 or 5 units in it, and the oposition causes 3 to fall back, do those units left fight back, or do they have to wait for their turn before rolling the die?

I'm sure that other issues will arrise that brings me back to asking further clarifications, but I'll print out the FAQ to stop me asking dumb questions.

Mick

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Sun Dec 31, 2006 12:10 pm

Welcome, madasaskaven! Glad you're enjoying the game.
madasaskaven wrote:In combat, in the other games even those units destroyed get to fight back before they are removed, is this still the case?

what happens if you have a hex with 4 or 5 units in it, and the oposition causes 3 to fall back, do those units left fight back, or do they have to wait for their turn before rolling the die?
This game's combat system is completely different from those of previous A&A games. The defender does not fire back at all. They must wait for their turn to attack, and then only the remaining units may do so. That's why initiative is so important.
madasaskaven wrote:I'm sure that other issues will arrise that brings me back to asking further clarifications, but I'll print out the FAQ to stop me asking dumb questions.
Feel free to ask anytime, and Happy New Year!
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest