FAQ

Wacht am Rhein (Watch on the Rhein) was the German code name for this counter offensive. I don't want to hear anybody complaining about the weather this winter unless you were in the Ardennes during the winter of 1944! I simply love playing this game. Check out the new combat system when you can.
User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:56 pm

Here is the most recent version:


Errata
Page 11, Trucks - Special Abilities - Return: "At the beginning of the Movement & Reinforcement phase, before either player moves, you may return any of your Trucks that aren't in the enemy zone of control and can trace a path on roads to a friendly edge of the board without passing through an enemy zone of control or enemy-controlled city to your off-board area."

Page 13, Anti-Aircraft Example: Only spaces that actually contain aircraft should be counted when applying hits. In the example, the "4" should be carried over to the first position (with the "1") rather than be applied to the empty space.

Pages 18-19, Basic Movement Rules: "An empty Truck that begins movement in a hex on a friendly edge of the board with a road going off the board in that hex (even if that hex is in an enemy zone of control) may move off-board, in which case you return it to your off-board area."


Combat
On page 12 of the Operations Manual, under Air Combat Initiative Roll, it states that "Each player rolls a die; high roller chooses who places Aircraft first." Under Place Aircraft, it states "The player who won the Air Combat Initiative places all of his or her Aircraft in any hexes he or she chooses, and then the other player does the same." Which is correct?
The player who won the initiative roll chooses who places Aircraft first.

If multiple attacks are declared from a single hex, must all the attacks be resolved before passing initiative to the other player?
Yes.

Who moves units retreated in the Air Combat and Ground Combat phases?
The player who owns the units moves them.

Can two units that were retreated in the same battle retreat to different hexes?
Yes.

Can a unit retreat "forward" across the front line, assuming that no enemy zones of control or terrain features prevent it? Can it even retreat into an enemy-held city?
Yes.


Movement
On page 18 of the Operations Manual it states that "Whenever a ground unit enters or leaves a hex that falls within an enemy zone of control, its movement stops." Does the condition of a unit starting its movement in an enemy zone of control prevent it from moving to an adjacent zone of control hex?
No, an activated unit may always move at least one hex. In this case, you have two conditions that stop movement, but they occur simultaneously as the unit crosses the border between the two enemy zone of control hexes.


Trucks and Supplies
Can trucks load and unload in hexes inside an enemy zone of control?
Yes.

If a German unit moves into a hex occupied by an Allied Truck, does the Truck get a chance to move away to avoid being commandeered, since it is not actually commandeered until the Board Upkeep phase?
No. Trucks are captured as soon as enemy combat units move into their hex, even though they are not commandeered until the Board Upkeep phase. When they are captured, they may no longer be used by their former owner. However, they also may not be used by their new owner until they are commandeered. This interrim period (the remainder of the Movement and Reinforcement phase) represents the time necessary to take prisoners and assign personnel to the newly captured Trucks.

If Tanks move through a hex containing undefended enemy Trucks and/or Supplies and keep on moving, are they commandeered in the Board Upkeep phase even if no combat units remain in the hex to claim them?
The Trucks/Supplies will not be commandeered unless at least one combat unit remains in the hex to claim them.

Can you waste Supplies with useless actions, say by paying two Supply tokens to move a Tank out of a hex, then blitz it right back into the hex? This would be an easy way for the Allies to keep supplies from falling into German hands.
Yes, destroying supplies before they fall into enemy hands is always possible (with limited results of course).

I am a little confused about how Truck movement works. Could you explain it to me?
At the beginning of the Movement and Reinforcement phase, you may return any of your "free" Trucks that are on the board to your off-board area. Free Trucks are Trucks that either a) are not in an enemy zone of control and can trace a path on roads to a friendly edge of the board without passing through an enemy zone of control or enemy-controlled city, or b) are in a hex on a friendly edge of the board (even if that hex is in an enemy zone of control) with a road going off the board. This is the only time at which Trucks may leave the board.

During the Movement part of the phase, each Truck that remained on-board can drive all over the board (but not off it), staying on roads, until the Truck either enters or leaves an enemy zone of control, enters an enemy-controlled city, or decides to stop. As the Truck moves it can load up to a total of six Supply tokens and/or activated units (Infantry and/or Artillery) that have not moved yet from the hexes it passes through, even if that hex is in an enemy zone of control. The Truck may not unload until its movement stops, at which point it unloads all of its cargo into the hex in which it stopped.

During the Reinforcement part of the phase, each off-board Truck (including this turn's reinforcement Trucks) may load up to its capacity of six Supply tokens, Infantry units and/or Artillery units from the off-board area (including this turn's reinforcements from any of the charts). Each of these Trucks may then enter the board in any valid reinforcement entry hex (see page 21), regardless of the reinforcement chart from which they or their cargo came. Each Truck may then move exactly as in the Movement part of the phase, filling any remaining empty cargo spaces as it moves.

Supply tokens may only be moved by Truck. No supply tokens need to be paid to move either Trucks or Supplies. Supply tokens must be paid to activate combat units to be moved by Truck, unless those units are reinforcements coming from off-board.
Last edited by Krieghund on Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

djensen
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 3:55 pm
Contact:

Post by djensen » Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:44 pm

If it is alright with you Kreighund, I would like to post this FAQ at Axis and Allies.org.

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:42 pm

djensen wrote:If it is alright with you Kreighund, I would like to post this FAQ at Axis and Allies.org.
This is just a work in progress at this point. We will post it officially on the Avalon Hill website later in the week when it is completed, so I would prefer it if you would wait until it goes up there. Thanks.
Last edited by Krieghund on Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:52 pm

"Final" version of Trucks question:

I am a little confused about how Truck movement works. Could you explain it to me?
At the beginning of the Movement and Reinforcement phase, you may return any of your "free" Trucks that are on the board to your off-board area. Free Trucks are Trucks that either a) are not in an enemy zone of control and can trace a path on roads to a friendly edge of the board without passing through an enemy zone of control or enemy-controlled city, or b) are in a hex on a friendly edge of the board (even if that hex is in an enemy zone of control) with a road going off the board. This is the only time at which Trucks may leave the board.

During the Movement part of the phase, each Truck that remained on-board may load and carry cargo. A Truck's cargo capacity is limited to six items. This includes any combination of Supply tokens and activated Infantry and/or Artillery units that have not yet moved. Such a Truck may then be moved to any location on the board that it can legally reach (see below) without leaving the board. It is important to note, however, that a Truck moving out of an enemy zone of control can only be moved to an adjoining hex that is linked by road. A Truck, beginning its movement in an enemy zone of control may load units that are in that hex.

Trucks can only be moved on roads. As a Truck passes through different hexes it can fill any remaining empty cargo spaces (maximum of six items) with supplies or eligible units (see above) picked up along the way.

Trucks must stop upon entering an enemy zone of control or enemy-controlled city. They may, of course, otherwise stop anywhere along a road. When a Truck stops, its cargo is completely unloaded, and it may not unload any part of its cargo until it stops.

During the Reinforcement part of the phase, each off-board Truck (including the current turn's reinforcement Trucks) may load up to its normal cargo capacity. This cargo can include units from the off-board area (including the current turn's reinforcements from any of the charts). Each of these Trucks may then enter the board in any valid reinforcement entry hex (see page 21), regardless of the reinforcement chart from which they or their cargo came. Each Truck may then move exactly as in the Movement part of the phase, filling any remaining empty cargo spaces as it moves.

Supply tokens may only be moved by Truck. No Supply tokens need to be paid to move either Trucks or Supplies. Supply tokens must be paid to activate combat units to be moved by Truck, unless those units are reinforcements coming from off-board.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Craig A Yope
Posts: 820
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:23 am
Location: Saint Clair, MI

May Return or Must Return?

Post by Craig A Yope » Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:37 am

Okay, which is it?

Must the trucks, not in ZOCs, be moved off-board or may you chose to move some of them off the board and keep some of the them on the board?

The rulebook has "may" in it but the errata is written in a way to suggest that you must return all truck that are not in a ZOC to the off-board area.

The above question and answer also has "may" in it.

Craig

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:17 am

Good catch, Craig! It's been corrected. See anything else?
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by Krieghund » Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:06 am

The FAQ has been finalized (for now, anyway) and posted on the Avalon Hill Battle of the Bulge board. A link to it has also been posted on this board.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest