Page 1 of 1

Battleship Rule?

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:32 pm
by LMD
The rules provide that if a defending battleship sustains only 1 hit durng "combat," then it is retuned upright at the end of the combat. I read the rules to mean that "combat" means one round of combat, meaning if the the battleship has 1 hit and the attacker decides to continue with another "combat" sequence (instead of retreating), then the battleship is returned upright for the next round of combat and it will again take 2 hits to destroy in that combat sequence. My friend believes that the battleship holds that 1 hit as long as the attaker continues to attack, meaning the defender can destroy the battleship with just 1 hit in the following combat sequence. Which is it? Thanks.

Re: Battleship Rule?

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:36 pm
by Krieghund
Your friend is right.

Re: Battleship Rule?

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:38 am
by LMD
Makes sense, otherwise battleships are far too powerful. Thanks again!

Re: Battleship Rule?

Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:28 pm
by Caractacus
And watching two battleships fight each other would otherwise be somewhat tiring... :mrgreen: