sub ruling

This game, measuring 35”x32” is compatible with the yet to be released Axis & Allies Europe 1940 game (coming in August 2010). This game includes newly introduced units such as mechanized infantry and tactical bombers.
frog
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 1:58 pm

sub ruling

Post by frog » Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:43 pm

OK my opponent says if he has a fleet with subs and multiple surface ships.

I am attacking with aircraft, cruiser, and a battleship, NO DESTROYER.

Can I ignore his submarines in the battle?

He says he can take hits on the subs except by planes.

Basically this. Subs cannot be ignored when they are in a zone with other surface vessels in a combat situation.

frog
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 1:58 pm

Re: sub ruling

Post by frog » Thu Apr 08, 2010 10:17 pm

Second question

If he has nothing but subs in the sea of Japan and I ignore them in my attack phase, with an entire fleet other than destroyers.

He scrambles fighters, even just one fighter, do I now have to fight all the subs as well?

So, can subs be ignored even when the only units were scrambled fighters and subs?

He wants me to ask this way--
Can I take the subs as casualties?

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: sub ruling

Post by Krieghund » Thu Apr 08, 2010 10:42 pm

Subs can only be ignored during movement, and only if they're alone or with only transports. When you attack a sea zone, you attack every unit in it that belongs to a power with which you're at war. You can't pick and choose what to attack. If the defender scrambles air units, it forces the attacker to fight everything in the sea zone, even if his/her intent was to ignore only transports and/or subs there.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
eggsaladsandwich
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:53 pm

Re: sub ruling

Post by eggsaladsandwich » Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:31 pm

The Faqs say that EACH unescorted transport can be fired on by EACH enemy sub in the seazone its entering...2 questions:
1. So if I have 2 subs and he has 2 xports, I get 4 dice to roll? (each sub firing on each transport?)

2. Do these rolls hit on a 1 OR on a 2 or less?
War is hell, Peace is hells waiting room.

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: sub ruling

Post by Krieghund » Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:59 pm

eggsaladsandwich wrote:The Faqs say that EACH unescorted transport can be fired on by EACH enemy sub in the seazone its entering.
No, it says that each transport or group of transports may be fired upon by each sub.
eggsaladsandwich wrote:1. So if I have 2 subs and he has 2 xports, I get 4 dice to roll? (each sub firing on each transport?)
It depends. If the transports are moving from and to the same sea zone, they are a group and the group will be fired upon once by each sub. If they are not a group, each transport will be fired upon once by each sub.
eggsaladsandwich wrote:2. Do these rolls hit on a 1 OR on a 2 or less?
On a 2 or less.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

ikaros
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 7:58 am

Re: sub ruling

Post by ikaros » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:33 am

Some questions about defining a "group":

If there are 2 transports in a sea zone A with an enemy sub present, they move together to the next sea zone and split up there to go to different zones. Is it still one group when leaving zone A?

What if one goes to make an amphibious assault (combat move) and another doesn't (non-combat move)?

What happens if a transport and a destroyer arrive in zone A with an enemy sub and then destroyer continues it's movement and transport unloads in zone A. The transport's entire move was accompanied by a warship, correct?

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: sub ruling

Post by Krieghund » Thu Sep 23, 2010 8:51 am

ikaros wrote:Some questions about defining a "group":

If there are 2 transports in a sea zone A with an enemy sub present, they move together to the next sea zone and split up there to go to different zones. Is it still one group when leaving zone A?

What if one goes to make an amphibious assault (combat move) and another doesn't (non-combat move)?
A group is a set of transports that make their entire move together (starting and ending in the same sea zones) during the same movement phase. The transports in your examples aren't groups.
ikaros wrote:What happens if a transport and a destroyer arrive in zone A with an enemy sub and then destroyer continues it's movement and transport unloads in zone A. The transport's entire move was accompanied by a warship, correct?
Yes, assuming they were together when the transport started its movement.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

WILD BILL
Posts: 1487
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 2:24 pm

Re: sub ruling

Post by WILD BILL » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:01 pm

Another sub question, and I don't have the rules with me. Say there is a battle at sea and one side takes his only dd as a casualty, and the other side has surviving subs after the first round of battle. In the 2nd round do the subs regain their ability to submerge, or sink an enemy ship immediately if it stays in the battle and scores a hit (no return fire) ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests