AAA on the offensive

The sister game to Axis & Allies Pacific 1940. Due out August 24, 2010
isaacc

AAA on the offensive

Post by isaacc » Mon Sep 24, 2012 10:04 pm

I notice that AAA cannot move in the Combat Move Phase. So, one cannot take AAA along on the attack. It seems quite odd to me. I was wondering what the reason is for that, from the standpoint of the game's design.

I fully understand that A&A is quite abstracted. Having said that, the big AAA emplaced guns are accounted for in the mechanic of facilities having their own organic AA capability. I like that; I think it's really smooth.

So, I thought that the AAA units were the smaller mobile guns specifically meant to go along with the army providing AA cover as the army moves. And yet, the rules say I can't take AAA along on the attack. It just seems unthematic to me.

If AAA were allowed to come along on the attack, would that break the game?

I've been playing A&A off and on since 1981 but I'm brand new to the Global game. Kudos, Mr. Harris, for A&A40 Europe and Pacific.

Thanks.

Imperious leader

Re: AAA on the offensive

Post by Imperious leader » Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:37 pm

I agree. They should move in combat and perhaps get to fire in combat at 1.

But the idea is attacking AAA guns would be used to hunt down planes in adjacent areas. Not good.
We really need an Axis and Allies World War one game so i can play that on August 1st, 2014.

Krieghund

Post by Krieghund » Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:47 am

Welcome, isaacc!

There's just too much potential for abuse in allowing AAA to attack. As IL said, you could make strafing attacks for the sole purpose of throwing shots at enemy planes. If successful, you could also then take the AAA as casualties, leaving most or all of your offensive units intact for a follow-up attack.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

SithlordRPGA

Post by SithlordRPGA » Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:58 am