Improved Mech and SBR questions

Link up A&A Pacific 1940 and Europe 1940, and you've got Axis & Allies Global 1940.
Post Reply
Fantabulor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:41 pm

Improved Mech and SBR questions

Post by Fantabulor » Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:07 am

Question #1: When a country has Improved Mechanized Infantry, does this have any effect on the pairing of an artillery with a mechanized infantry? Specifically, could a mechanized infantry pair first with a tank, to improve its attack to 2, then pair with an artillery to improve it further to a 3? Or are these effects non-cumulative?

Question #2: in an SBR, can a defender choose not to involve his fighters in the SBR? Also, if he chooses to participate, can he specify how many fighters are to be involved?

Thanks,

Fantabulor

Fantabulor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Improved Mech and SBR questions

Post by Fantabulor » Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:52 am

One more question: If Japan attacks the Soviet Union, triggering the NO, can it attack Mongolia the same turn without triggering the rule for Axis attack on a strict neutral?

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Improved Mech and SBR questions

Post by Krieghund » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:11 pm

Fantabulor wrote:Question #1: When a country has Improved Mechanized Infantry, does this have any effect on the pairing of an artillery with a mechanized infantry? Specifically, could a mechanized infantry pair first with a tank, to improve its attack to 2, then pair with an artillery to improve it further to a 3? Or are these effects non-cumulative?
Each unit may be paired with only one other unit at the same time.
Fantabulor wrote:Question #2: in an SBR, can a defender choose not to involve his fighters in the SBR? Also, if he chooses to participate, can he specify how many fighters are to be involved?
Yes to both.
Fantabulor wrote:One more question: If Japan attacks the Soviet Union, triggering the NO, can it attack Mongolia the same turn without triggering the rule for Axis attack on a strict neutral?
No. All of the other strict neutral territories will immediately become pro-Allies, and all of the Mongolian territories that are not captured by Japan will become controlled by the Soviet Union at the end of Japan’s Conduct Combat phase.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Fantabulor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Improved Mech and SBR questions

Post by Fantabulor » Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:19 pm

Thanks Krieghund!

No surprises on the first two, but the pact question seems to be very harsh to Japan. That being said, what would happen in this scenario: on T2, Japan invades Mongolia, causing the neutral troops to show up in Mongolian territory, then on T3 Japan invades the Soviet Union, triggering the pact. In this case, would all Mongolian units become Soviet troops upon the Japanese invasion, or do they need to be collected by the USSR as per normal friendly-neutral rules?

Also, some questions about Mongolia in general:

Since Mongolia is the only multiple-territory neutral nation, once one portion of the country is invaded, do all neutral troops show up immediately, or do they only appear when their individual territory is attacked? Also, are they stuck in place, or free to move around the country?

Finally, can the Soviets move in and retrieve the pro-Allied troops from Mongolia (assuming no invasion of USSR by Japan causing it to go to war) prior to it joining the Allies?

Thanks,

Fantabulor

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Improved Mech and SBR questions

Post by Krieghund » Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:45 pm

Fantabulor wrote:No surprises on the first two, but the pact question seems to be very harsh to Japan. That being said, what would happen in this scenario: on T2, Japan invades Mongolia, causing the neutral troops to show up in Mongolian territory, then on T3 Japan invades the Soviet Union, triggering the pact. In this case, would all Mongolian units become Soviet troops upon the Japanese invasion, or do they need to be collected by the USSR as per normal friendly-neutral rules?
They would still be placed under Soviet control. This happens any time Japan breaks the pact.
Fantabulor wrote:Since Mongolia is the only multiple-territory neutral nation, once one portion of the country is invaded, do all neutral troops show up immediately, or do they only appear when their individual territory is attacked? Also, are they stuck in place, or free to move around the country?
They appear as each territory is attacked (unless Japan breaks the pact with the USSR), and they may not move until claimed by an Allied power.
Fantabulor wrote:Finally, can the Soviets move in and retrieve the pro-Allied troops from Mongolia (assuming no invasion of USSR by Japan causing it to go to war) prior to it joining the Allies?
If Soviet Union is not at war with Japan, it is still under the restrictions of a neutral power on the Pacific map, so may not move into neutral territories, including Mongolia. Of course, all it must do to get around this is to declare war on Japan.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Fantabulor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Improved Mech and SBR questions

Post by Fantabulor » Sat Dec 06, 2014 10:30 pm

On the note of the first question I asked regarding pairing. I assume that means that a tank could not be paired with both a mech and a tac bomber? Please confirm.

Cheers,

Fantabulor

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Improved Mech and SBR questions

Post by Krieghund » Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:03 am

Not at the same time. However, the tank could be paired with each of those units at different times. For example, it could be paired with the mechanized infantry during the combat move phase to allow the mechanized infantry to blitz along with the tank, then it could be paired with the tactical bomber during combat to allow the tactical bomber to attack at 4.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests