Official Rules Clarifications

Link up A&A Pacific 1940 and Europe 1940, and you've got Axis & Allies Global 1940.
User avatar
Builder_Chris
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Englewood, Colorado

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Builder_Chris » Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Transport v sub rule question

Transport, on combat move, enters a sea zone containing one or more enemy subs, no air base scramble possibility in the sz....can the transport, all by its lonesome in the sz, can it unload for a amphibious assault? Or does it need to be "escorted" by at least one war ship? Meaning a sub or other surface warship of the same power as the transport?

For the life of me I can not find the answer in the 2nd edition rule books but I thought during the last alpha revision the transport had to be escorted but in the new rule book all I can find is I can ignore subs, no need to be escorted.

This seems to very rarely happen in our games but the last few games we've played its come up and so I'm not certain what the deal is in the "official" 2nd edition rules.

Thanks
Construimus, Batuimus -- "We Build, We Fight.".....we party all night!

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2668
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:44 pm

Look at the "Transports" section on page 16 of the Europe Rulebook or page 15 of the Pacific Rulebook.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Builder_Chris
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Englewood, Colorado

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Builder_Chris » Sat Nov 16, 2013 11:21 am

Krieghund wrote:Look at the "Transports" section on page 16 of the Europe Rulebook or page 15 of the Pacific Rulebook.

AH HA! you the dude! I knew read this some place!

....a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.


I just couldn't seem to find it in the heat of battle the last few games. thanks. (again)
Construimus, Batuimus -- "We Build, We Fight.".....we party all night!

WILD BILL
Posts: 1487
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 2:24 pm

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by WILD BILL » Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:17 pm

Just for clarification (haven't play in a while).

Re German NO's for G40 Alpha+3 or 2nd edition.

Question/clarification:
Germany would need to capture Stalingrad (Leningrad or Moscow) itself to get the 5 IPC's NO, but any Axis power (Ger, Ita, Jap) could take Caucasus for the Germans to get that 5 IPC's NO. Only Euro Axis powers are eligible for the 2 IPC oil bonus for the 3 Middle East territories, but Japan is not.



We are in the 5-6 turn, and Jap/Ital (and Germany) are in position to get some of these territories, so we are just trying to figure the best coarse of action.

Just an observation is that if Japan or Italy takes Stalingrad for production purposes, then the Germans lose out on the 5 IPC NO. At first I thought it was kinda strange that the NO wasn't awarded to Germany if any Axis power (or Euro power) got Stalingrad, but I guess it is a trade off in German income to have more friends in the neighborhood. As the Axis you have to decide what is in your best interest at the time. I guess it was done on purpose so that the Axis couldn't bake their cake and eat it too LOL. I think I like the fact that if the Japanese (or Italians) get to Caucasus there is a reward for the Germans. The Japanese get to the Mid East or Southern Russia in many of our games. Right now all 3 Axis powers are in range to capture Stalingrad/Caucasus and maybe bust into the Mid East oil territories, this game is so cool.

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2668
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:50 pm

WILD BILL wrote:Germany would need to capture Stalingrad (Leningrad or Moscow) itself to get the 5 IPC's NO, but any Axis power (Ger, Ita, Jap) could take Caucasus for the Germans to get that 5 IPC's NO. Only Euro Axis powers are eligible for the 2 IPC oil bonus for the 3 Middle East territories, but Japan is not.
Correct.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

Whackamatt
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:49 am

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Whackamatt » Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:24 am

Krieg, got a new one for ya:

1. Neither Russia nor Japan have declared war on one another.
2. By Round 5, the US and Russia are now allies.
3. The US takes Korea away from Japan.
4. Russia does a NCM with its 18 inf stack into the US' territory, it's ally.
5. Japan attacks Korea, but is still at peace with Russia

What happens to the Russian stack? Triple A allowed the fight, and did not include the Russian units. Do the Russian units have to move out of the now Japanese controlled territory on their next turn, as by the start of their turn they find themselves in foreign land? (Or declare war?)

The allied player that forgot to declare war has stated this situation cannot be, but it seems plausible to me. I don't think there are any rules that would prevent powers at war from attacking each other (the Japanese attack on US Korea), or the Russian NCM into an ally's territory.

Can't the same situation occur in Europe if Italy keeps NCMing into German territory while still at peace with the Soviet Union?

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2668
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:15 am

While the Soviet Union is not at war with Japan, it remains under the restrictions of being a neutral power on the Pacific map. This means that it cannot move units into territories on that map that are controlled by another power, even an ally, so it could not move units into Korea without first declaring war on Japan.

The situation with Germany and Italy in Europe is different because they are not under the restrictions of being a neutral power.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Builder_Chris
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Englewood, Colorado

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Builder_Chris » Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:54 am

Krieghund wrote: The situation with Germany and Italy in Europe is different because they are not under the restrictions of being a neutral power.
What the?!?!?!

IF Russia was not at war in Europe (meaning they are not part of the Allies yet) I would agree and understand this. However IF Russia is at war in Europe (meaning they are part of the allies) this does not seem right.


Compare the two situations (if Russia is at war in Europe...they are part of the Allies).

Italy, friend of Germany, not friend to Russia but not enemy to Russia; i.e. Italy is neutral towards Russia. Germany takes Russian land, Italians can step onto that land and not be at war with Russia and if/when Russia attacks Germany on that land, Italy is not in the fight and is stuck on that land. Meaning they must retreat to German controlled land or their own controlled land or DOW on Russia.

Now look at the other side of the board.

Russia, friend of USA, not friend to Japan but not enemy to Japan; i.e. Russia is neutral towards Japan. USA takes Japanese land, Russians should be able (just like Italy) to step onto that land and not be at war with Japan and if/when Japan attacks the USA on that land, Russia is not in the fight and is stuck on that land. Meaning they must retreat to USA controlled land or their own controlled land or DOW on Japan.


Looks like the same situation to me…why is it different?

Italy, “in Europe” is only at war with UK/ANZAC/France/USA (the Allies)….NOT Russia. But yes, Russia is an “Allied” Power so I guess they are part of the “Allies”.

Russia, in the Pacific is only at war with Germany, maybe Italy but NOT Japan, they are at war with the Axis (Japan is part of the Axis…right?) but just not the Japanese part of the Axis.

IF Germany/Italy had units in the pacific, they could attack the Russians from Japanese land…right? SO Japan is part of the Axis.

So again…why the difference?
Construimus, Batuimus -- "We Build, We Fight.".....we party all night!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests