Official Rules Clarifications

Link up A&A Pacific 1940 and Europe 1940, and you've got Axis & Allies Global 1940.
Whackamatt
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:49 am

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Whackamatt » Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:36 am

Thanks, Krieg!

Builder_Chris, it makes sense. Let me lay down the rulebook:
“Looks like the same situation to me…why is it different?”

Page 36, Europe 2nd Ed: “Due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, the Soviet Union is in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers. As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15) on the other map. In other words, a state of war with Japan lifts those restrictions from the Soviet Union on the Pacific map only, and a state of war with Germany and/or Italy lifts those restrictions on the Europe map only.”

Italy and Russia have two different circumstances. Per above, Russia is still considered to be a “Neutral Power” on the Pacific side, regardless of Allies & Allied movement. Italy, has no such delineation, and is a power at war on the European side from Round 1 – never a “Neutral Power”. Neutral towards Russia, perhaps, but not a “Neutral Power”, as they’re at war with France & UK.

Page 15, Europe 2nd Ed: “Neutral Powers: When a power is not at war with anyone, it is neutral. Powers that begin the game neutral, such as the United States and the Soviet Union, aren’t initially part of the Allies or the Axis. The Axis powers are on the opposite side of these neutral powers, but they are not yet considered enemies. While a power remains neutral, it operates under even tighter restrictions. A neutral power can’t move land or air units into or through neutral territories. It can’t move units into or through territories or onto ships belonging to another power or use another power’s naval bases, nor can another power move land or air units into or through its territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases.”

Essentially, the same restrictions as the US pre-war apply to Russia in the Pacific until at war, and it’s the reason why Russian can’t take neutral territories in the middle east until they’re at war in Europe.

It states a neutral power can’t move into territory belonging to another power, regardless of their alliance.

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:47 am

What Whackamatt said. But to further clarify:
Builder_Chris wrote:Italy, friend of Germany, not friend to Russia but not enemy to Russia; i.e. Italy is neutral towards Russia. Germany takes Russian land, Italians can step onto that land and not be at war with Russia
Correct, as the territory is controlled by Germany.
Builder_Chris wrote:and if/when Russia attacks Germany on that land, Italy is not in the fight and is stuck on that land. Meaning they must retreat to German controlled land or their own controlled land or DOW on Russia.
Incorrect. The USSR must declare war on Italy before attacking any territory containing Italian units.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Builder_Chris
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Englewood, Colorado

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Builder_Chris » Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:56 pm

Krieghund wrote:What Whackamatt said. But to further clarify:
Builder_Chris wrote:Italy, friend of Germany, not friend to Russia but not enemy to Russia; i.e. Italy is neutral towards Russia. Germany takes Russian land, Italians can step onto that land and not be at war with Russia
Correct, as the territory is controlled by Germany.
Builder_Chris wrote:and if/when Russia attacks Germany on that land, Italy is not in the fight and is stuck on that land. Meaning they must retreat to German controlled land or their own controlled land or DOW on Russia.
Incorrect. The USSR must declare war on Italy before attacking any territory containing Italian units.
Sorry..not trying to be difficult...but I don't get it.

Italy (an axis power...friendly with Germany...and Japan) has a "neutral" status with Russia. And since neutrals can not enter other powers land why can Italy be able to enter Russian land controlled by Germans when Russia (an allied power...friendly with the USA...and all other allies powers on the allied side at war with the axis powers that are at war) having a neutral status with Japan can not do the same thing?

again, not trying to be difficult...but I don't see the difference.

YES...I see that there is a huge difference in the situation if Russia is neutral on both sides of the board, meaning they are not at war with any part of the AXIS but the second they are at war with one axis power...they should be just like Italy/Russia...after all at the point that Italy steps onto Russian land (as a neutral with Russia) they are at war with all the other "allies" of the game and if Russia is at war with all other Axis powers (but neutral with Japn) how is that different?

if Italy can step in that situation then Russia should be able to step in that situation and if Russia can not then Italy should not be able too.

I guess this is why I am a construction worker and not a Politian...fish is fish to me.
Construimus, Batuimus -- "We Build, We Fight.".....we party all night!

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Wed Nov 20, 2013 5:01 pm

I see the source of your confusion. Italy and the USSR aren't "neutral" towards each other; they just aren't at war. Once a neutral power is at war with anyone, it is no longer neutral and is considered to be on the side opposite any powers it's at war with. For instance, if Japan declares war on the US, the US is then on the side of the Allies (no longer neutral), and so is on the opposite side from Germany and Italy. Even if the US is not actively at war with the European Axis, it is no longer neutral toward them.

What makes the Soviet Union's situation unique is that it can be at war on one side of the globe and still neutral on the other. No other power can be in that status.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Builder_Chris
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Englewood, Colorado

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Builder_Chris » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:42 am

Krieghund wrote: What makes the Soviet Union's situation unique is that it can be at war on one side of the globe and still neutral on the other. No other power can be in that status.
oooohhhhhh......so that's the true difference...Russians have a special rule.
politics.

thanks
Construimus, Batuimus -- "We Build, We Fight.".....we party all night!

Whackamatt
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:49 am

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Whackamatt » Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:32 pm

Question:

France has two infantry loaded on a US transport.

During France's combat movement phase, they are unloading their infantry into the Italian held Gibraltar. France has no combat units in the SZ.

Italy has two fighters stationed in Morocco, with an airbase.

Can Italy scramble to prevent the landing? France is initiating combat through another power's units (transport), and naval battles need to be resolved before any landing can occur. Can Italy scramble and sink a US transport on France's turn?

Or is France just not allowed to land because they cannot resolve combat?

OR, is this such a niche situation where France gets to land for free? It seems like the scramble rule should apply, but it seems to go against forcing an ally's unit into offensive combat.

So which takes precedence?

User avatar
Krieghund
Posts: 2666
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Krieghund » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:33 am

Italy can scramble. The US transport doesn't participate in the sea battle because it's not the US's turn, so it can't be sunk. Since there are no attacking (French) sea or air units, there is no sea battle. However, the sea zone can't be cleared of defending combat units, so the amphibious assault can't proceed.
A&A Developer and Playtester

"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok

User avatar
Craig A Yope
Posts: 820
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:23 am
Location: Saint Clair, MI

Re: Official Rules Clarifications

Post by Craig A Yope » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:58 am

That's funky!!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests