This promises to be the core game and it will be around for many years to come.
January 3, 2013
Page 6 - How the War Is Won: The listed victory conditions are incorrect. Honolulu is also a victory city.
Paragraph two should read "On the map are thirteen victory cities crucial to the war effort. As the game begins, the Axis controls six of these cities and the Allies control seven of them. The Allies begin the game controlling Washington, London, Leningrad, Moscow, Calcutta, Honolulu, and San Francisco. The Axis powers begin the game controlling Berlin, Paris, Rome, Shanghai, Manila, and Tokyo. The standard victory condition is if your side controls three more total victory cities than it started with (9 for the Axis or 10 for the Allies) at the end of a complete round of play (after the completion of the U.S. turn), you win the war."
Also, paragraph three should read "If you want to use the total victory condition, then after the completion of the U.S. turn, your side must control all thirteen (13) victory cities. Players must agree at the beginning of the game which victory condition will constitute a win. If no specific agreement is made, then the standard victory condition will apply."
Finally, the Standard Victory condition should read "9 for the Axis or 10 for the Allies", and the Total Victory condition should read "13".
Page 6 - Combat Forces: Germany’s Starting Income should be "41", and the United Kingdom's Starting Income should be "31".
Page 8 - Spaces on the Game Board: The fourth sentence of the third paragraph should read "The following spaces are adjacent: Western Canada and Eastern Canada; Western United States and Central United States; Mexico and East Mexico; sea zones 55 and 19; sea zones 42 and 20; and sea zones 41 and 21."
Page 9 - Canals: The third sentence of the first paragraph should read "A canal is not considered a space, so it does not block land movement: Land units can move freely between Trans-Jordan and Egypt." Also, the third and fourth sentences of the second paragraph should read "The side that controls both Egypt and Trans-Jordan controls the Suez Canal. If one side controls Egypt and the other controls Trans-Jordan, the Suez Canal is closed to sea units."
Page 23 - Winning the Game: The Standard Victory condition should read "9 for the Axis or 10 for the Allies", and the Total Victory condition should read "13".
Q. How many shots do antiaircraft artillery (AAA) units fire?
A. Each AAA unit in the territory may fire up to 3 shots, but each attacking air unit may be fired upon only once. In other words, the total number of air defense dice rolled is either 3 times the number of AAA units, or the number of attacking air units, whichever is the lesser. For example, 5 fighters attacking a territory containing 2 AAA units would have 5 shots fired against them while those same 5 fighters would have only 3 shots fired against them if there were only 1 defending AAA unit.
Q. I'm a little confused about how transports work in combat. Could you explain when they can be taken as casualties and how "defenseless" transports work?
A. Transports are a part of a sea combat, just like other sea units. They are participants in combat, not bystanders. A combat involving transports plays out like any other combat, with three exceptions.
The first exception is that transports don't roll combat dice. As a result, they will never hit anything. They must rely on combat units for protection.
The second exception is that transports may only be taken as casualties when there is no other choice. In other words, they can't be used as "cannon fodder". Combat units protect transports, not the other way around.
The final exception is that when it gets to the point where only one side is rolling dice, and it's only a matter of time before the other side's transports are destroyed, you can stop rolling dice and remove the transports. The sole point of the defenseless transport rule is to keep you from rolling potentially endless dice until you kill all of the helpless transports. This is the only time that transports are ever automatically destroyed.
A classic example of the defenseless transport rule is a fighter attacking a lone transport. You could roll a die again and again until you roll a 3 or less while the transport doesn't return fire. The defense-less transport rule simply allows you to forego the rolls and remove the transport automatically. Remember, it takes a dedicated combat action to destroy even a defenseless transport, so a ship or plane can't simply move through a sea zone and destroy it in passing. It must end its combat move there and declare an attack.
Let's look at another, more complex, example of transports in combat. An attacking force consisting of two bombers, a destroyer and two loaded transports is attempting an amphibious assault. The sea zone is defended by a destroyer and two submarines. In the first combat round, all of the attacking units fire and get one hit. The defender takes the destroyer as the casualty and returns fire, missing with his destroyer but rolling snake eyes for his subs and scoring two hits! The attacker must take his destroyer for the first hit, since subs can't hit planes and transports must be taken last as casualties. The second hit must now be taken on a transport, since that's the only eligible unit remaining. The attacker is now in a sticky situation. He has only two bombers and a transport remaining against two defending subs. Since the bombers can no longer hit the subs (the attacker doesn't have a destroy-er), and the subs can't hit the bombers, the only effective firing going on will be the subs firing on the transport. It's only a matter of time before the subs sink the transport, but the transport can still retreat before it is hit, so it's not defenseless. The attacker's only real option at this point is to retreat before the remaining transport is destroyed.
Q. If a submarine submerges to escape combat, when does it resurface?
A. Immediately after the battle. Submerging simply removes subs from combat. Beyond that, it has no further effect.
Q. If a US fleet attacks a German sub, and a UK destroyer is in the same sea zone, will it cancel the special abilities of the German sub, even though the UK destroyer doesn't participate in the battle?
A. No. Units in the same sea zone belonging to a power allied to the attacker never participate in a battle in any way. Only a destroyer belonging to the attacking power will cancel the Submersible, Surprise Strike and Cannot Be Hit by Air Units abilities of defending submarines. However, since all defending units in the sea zone participate in the battle, any defending destroyer will cancel these abilities of attacking subs, even if the destroyer and fighter belong to different powers.
Q. Let's say I attack a sea zone that contains both enemy subs and surface warships. If at some point during the battle, all of the enemy surface warships are sunk and only subs remain, can I ignore the subs and end the battle?
A. No. Subs (and/or transports) can only be ignored during movement, and you can only ignore them when there are no surface warships in the sea zone with them. When you attack a sea zone, you attack all of the enemy units in that sea zone.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest